City O’ City, Denver, Colorado

From the Map

Category: Place to Eat [Restaurant]

How I heard about this place: this Autostraddle city guide for Denver

I am a vegan/vegetarian (used to be vegan, started eating eggs again), and I love vegan/vegetarian restaurants. I seek them out in every city.

City O’ City is a vegetarian or vegan-friendly restaurant near the Denver state capital building. It has vegan and gluten-free options, and seems decently trendy in terms of its décor and mannerisms (Google Maps called it “funky”). The Autostraddle guide characterizes City O’ City as a “hanging with pals, first-date” kind of place. I don’t know what a first-date restaurant is supposed to be like, but it is a nice place to hang with pals.

In case you are eating alone as I was, it is useful to know that the bar still has the full menu.

For an early dinner, I had a vegan barbecue mac and cheese dish. It sounded good in theory: vegan mac (my all-time favorite food), barbecue tofu or seitan, coleslaw, greens, all the soul-food classics. I’m a big-time fan of vegan soul food.

However, the dish was quite heavy on the barbecue sauce – even the parts that weren’t barbecued, like the greens or the mac. I was not a big fan. However, I’m sure that truer soul-food and barbecue fans won’t mind it at all.

If you’re looking for a vegetarian place in the area or you like the sound of the menu, I’d recommend this place. Otherwise, I prefer the other vegan restaurant I visited, Watercourse Foods. Not that I hated it, I just didn’t love it.

Directions: It is a half mile walk from the Civic Center stop of the free 16th Street Mall Bus.

Address: City O’ City, 206 E 13th Ave, Denver, CO 80203

Leave a Reply

